USBWA All-American Teams – Oscar Robertson Finalist Released

The United States Basketball Writers Association released their 2016-17 First and Second All-American Teams on Monday. The first team also doubles as the five finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, recognizing the nation’s Most Valuable Player.

Two seniors, one junior, one sophomore and one freshman make up the first team. At least one freshman has been named to the first team seven of the past eight seasons, with the 2013 team being the only one not to include either a senior or a freshman.

Villanova’s Josh Hart and Kansas’ Frank Mason III are the two seniors. Hart, the Big EAST Player of the Year, led his Wildcats to the Big EAST Regular season and Tournament titles, averaging 18.9 points (.508%), 6.5 rebounds, 3.1 assists and 1.6 steals in 33.2 minutes per game. Mason, the Big 12 Player of the Year, led Kansas to their 13th straight Big 12 Regular Season title and a number one-seed in the 2017 NCAA Tournament. He averaged 20.8 points (.487), 5.1 assists, 4.1 rebounds and 1.3 steals in 36.2 minutes of play.

Gonzaga junior Nigel Williams-Goss led the Zags to both the regular season and tournament titles in the West Coast Conference and a number one-seed in the 2017 NCAA Tournament. Goss averaged 16.9 points (.521), 5.7 rebounds, 4.8 assists and 1.8 steals on his way to earning the West Coast Conference Player and Newcomer of the Year.

Purdue sophomore Caleb Swanigan became the fourth Boilermaker to earn the Big Ten Player of the Year award. Swanigan is averaging 18.5 points (.534), 12.6 rebounds and 2.9 assists in 32.3 minutes. The powerful forward is tied for first nationally with Seton Hall junior sensation Angel Delgado in double-doubles with 26 out of 32 games.

Freshman Lonzo Ball currently leads the country in assists per game at 7.7 in 34.9 minutes of play. The Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and All-Pac-12 First Team member averaged 14.6 points on .544 from the field – the best shooting percentage of the first team – while dishing out 7.7 assists, gathering 6.1 rebounds and creating 1.9 steals per game.

Complete First and Second All-American Teams:

First Team (Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalists):

  • Josh Hart – Villanova – Senior – Guard
  • Frank Mason III – Kansas – Senior – Guard
  • Nigel Williams-Goss – Gonzaga – Junior – Guard
  • Caleb Swanigan – Purdue – Sophomore – Forward
  • Lonzo Ball – UCLA – Freshman – Guard

Second Team:

  • Dillon Brooks – Oregon – Junior – Guard
  • Justin Jackson – North Carolina – Junior – Forward/Guard
  • Johnathan Motley – Baylor – Junior – Forward
  • Luke Kennard – Duke – Sophomore – Guard
  • Malik Monk – Kentucky – Freshman – Guard

The winner of the 2016-17 Oscar Robertson Trophy will be announced at the NCAA’s Men’s Final Four in Glendale, Ariz., at a press conference on Fri., March 31. The trophy is named after “The Big O,” a three-time national player of the year and All-American at the University of Cincinnati.