Devonté Graham Named Big-12 Preseason Player of the Year


Devonté Graham, the 6-foot-2 point guard from the University of Kansas, was named as the Big-12 Preseason Player of the Year, as the Big-12 named their Preseason All-Big 12 Team on Thursday. All five players on the All-Big 12 team are entering their senior season.

Last season at Kansas, Graham averaged 13.4 points, 3.1 rebounds, and 4.1 assists per game, playing alongside National Player of the Year and 2017 Wooden Award winner Frank Mason III. Graham and Mason helped lead Kansas to a 31-5 record before falling to Oregon in the Sweet Sixteen

Graham wasn’t the only KU player to take home an award, as Kansas transfer guard Malik Newman claimed honors as the Big-12 Preseason Newcomer of the Year. After spending his freshman year at Mississippi State, Newman transferred to Kansas, sitting out the 2016-17 season.

In addition to Graham, Oklahoma State guard Jeffrey Carroll, TCU forward Vladimir Brodziansky, Texas Tech forward Zach Smith, and West Virginia guard Jevon Carter rounded out the rest of the All-Big 12 team. Graham, Carter, and Carroll were all unanimous selections.

Four of the five were All-Big 12 Second Team members at the conclusion of 2016-17 season. Smith was an honorable mention selection.

Former McDonald’s All-American and current Texas freshman big man Mohamed Bamba was named Big-12 Newcomer of the Year, coming from Westtown (PA) School. Bamba comes to Texas ranked a composite five-star by 247, the No. 3 ranked player in the Class of 2017, the No. 2 ranked at his position of forward and the top ranked high school player out of the state of New York.

The Big 12 Preseason Poll will be released Thursday, Oct. 19. Media Day will be held on Tuesday, Oct. 24 in Kansas City. The Big-12 announced attendees for Media Day on Tuesday.

Honorable mentions for the Preseason All-Big 12 team include:

  • Manu Lecomte (Baylor)
  • Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. (Baylor)
  • Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk (Kansas)
  • Malik Newman (Kansas)
  • Kameron McGusty (Oklahoma)
  • Trae Young (Oklahoma)
  • Kenrich Williams (TCU)
  • Mohamed Bamba (Texas)
  • Keenan Evans (Texas Tech)


Follow D1Vision on Our Social Sites:



instagram button

Follow Jacob on Twitter: