Twenty-One Candidates Announced for 2018 Karl Malone Award

Karl Malone Candidates Photo | Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 21 watch list members for the 2018 Karl Malone Award on Tuesday, honoring the top power forward in college basketball.

The annual honor — which recognizes the nation’s top power forward — is now in its fourth year. Past winners include Baylor’s Johnathan Motley (2017), Iowa State’s Georges Niang (2016), and Louisville’s Montrezl Harrell (2015).

By mid-February, the watch list of 21 players will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Karl Malone Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show on Friday, April 6, 2018.

The watchlist is made up of nine seniors, six juniors, two sophomores, and four freshmen. A wide range of conferences are represented, with the Pac-12, ACC, and SEC each having three players represented and the AAC, Big Ten, and Big-12 each have two players represented. Conference USA, the Patriot League, Summit League, Missouri Valley Conference, and Colonial Conference each have one player represented.

On Monday, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the candidates for the 2018 Bob Cousy Award, honoring the nation’s top point guard. On Tuesday, they announced the candidates for the 2018 Jerry West Award, honoring the nation’s top shooting guard, and on Wednesday they announced the candidates for the 2018 Julius Erving Award, honoring the nation’s top shooting guard.

On Friday, they will announce the candidates for the 2018 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, honoring the nation’s top center.


  • Deandre Ayton – Arizona – Fr – Pac-12
  • Nana Foulland – Bucknell – Sr – Patriot
  • Gary Clark Jr. – Cincinnati – Sr – AAC
  • Marvin Bagley III – Duke – Fr – ACC
  • Wendell Carter Jr. – Duke – Fr – ACC
  • Nick Mayo – Eastern Kentucky – So – Ohio Valley
  • Yante Maten – Georgia – Sr – SEC
  • Rokas Gustys – Hofstra – Sr – Colonial
  • PJ Washington – Kentucky – Fr – SEC
  • Moritz Wagner – Michigan – Jr – Big Ten
  • Jordan Murphy – Minnesota – Jr – Big Ten
  • Alize Johnson – Missouri State – Sr – Missouri Valley
  • Bonzie Colson II – Notre Dame – Sr – ACC
  • Mike Daum – South Dakota State – Jr – Summit League
  • Reid Travis – Stanford – Jr – Pac-12
  • Obi Enechionyia – Temple – Sr -AAC
  • Dylan Osetkowski – Texas – Jr – Big-12
  • Robert Williams – Texas A&M – So – SEC
  • Zach Smith – Texas Tech – Sr – Big-12
  • William Lee – UAB – Sr – Conference USA
  • Bennie Boatwright – USC  – Jr – Pac-12

Follow D1Vision on Our Social Sites:



instagram button

Follow Jacob on Twitter: